SSC CGL Selection Process 2018 - Tier I, Tier II, Tier III & Final List


SSC CGL selection process is done under four stages. It comprises of 4- tier i.e. Tier-I & TIER-II (Computer based), Tier-III (Descriptive Test which includes data entry test & Computer Proficiency Test), and Tier-IV. The final selection of candidates is based on the overall performance in Tier-I, Tier-II & Tier-III.  The Tier-IV is qualifying in nature. Candidates have to qualify each stage separately to draw their names in the merit list. The merit list is prepared on the basis of total marks obtained by the candidates in all the rounds. Last year, the combined cutoff of Tier 1 and Tier 2 was 440 marks out of 600. 


SSC CGL is conducted for filling up Group B & Group C posts in various ministries/ departments under Government of India. There is no interview for any post in the selection process of SSC CGL.  Check the complete details of SSC CGL Selection Process in this article.


What is the selection process for SSC CGL?


SSC CGL Tier-I: Computer-based written exam in MCQ format

SSC CGL Tier-II: Computer-based written exam in MCQ format

SSC CGL Tier-III: Written examination (Descriptive test/ Essay writing)

SSC CGL Tier-IV: Computer Proficiency Test (CPT)/ Data Entry Test wherever applicable and Document verification.

SSC CGL Tier – I 






Tier 3 is a descriptive type paper and conducted for 100 marks in offline mode. This paper is introduced to test the writing skills of the candidates. The descriptive paper is class 12th level and the qualifying mark is 33% only. Candidates have to complete the descriptive paper (Essay/ letter/ Application writing) in 1 hour only.



SSC CGL Tier 4 is conducted for the post of Assistant Section Officer only. The marks obtained in Tier I and Tier 2 will determine the eligibility to appear in Tier 4. This round consists of Data Entry Skill Test or Computer Proficiency Test. The typing speed would be 35 words per minute in Data Entry Skill Test. This round is qualifying in nature.

SSC CGL Final Selection


Candidates have to qualify all the rounds separately to get their names in final merit list.  It is prepared on the basis of total marks obtained in Tier 1, Tier 2 and Tier 3. SSC will release the merit list for each category and post. The appointment letter will be sent to the selected candidates on the basis of their post preferences and ranks.