SSC CGL Tier-III Exam Date Revised – Check Here

Staff Selection Commission of India has again changed the Exam Dates for SSC CGL Tier-III Exam. Earlier the exam was scheduled on 31st March 2018. Now SSC CGL 2017-18 Tier-III exam will be conducted tentatively in the month of May 2018 & Tier-IV is scheduled on May/June,2018 (Skill Test). The Exam Dates will be soon announced by SSC.


The Staff Selection Commission has decided to postpone the tier III paper amidst the ongoing controversy around the SSC CGL tier II paper leak.


The Staff Selection Commission has postponed the Combined Graduate Level (CGL) Tier III exam, according to NDTV. The descriptive paper, which was scheduled to be held on 31 March, has now been postponed to May. The SSC CGL 2018 notification, supposed to be released in April, may be delayed, NDTV further reported. There has been no official announcement on the exact date of the exam from the commission. Candidates, however, can check the commission's official website,, for updates. The commission conducts examinations for recruitment to lower categories of posts in the central government in four phases: Two computer-based exams, descriptive exam and computer proficiency/skill test.


The news comes as several candidates are protesting over the alleged paper leak in one of the CGL Tier II exam held on 21 February. The SSC recommended a CBI inquiry into the alleged paper leak after a delegation of protesting students recently met SSC chairman Ashim Khurana. The Centre on Tuesday informed the Supreme Court that the CBI had registered a preliminary inquiry in the SSC paper leak case and is currently investigating the matter.


SSC CGL 2018 Exam Pattern


The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) conducts the Combined Graduate Level (CGL) every year in the four levels for various posts. Exam Pattern - The Examination will be conducted in four tiers as indicated below:





Tier – I

Objective Multiple Choice

Computer Based (online)

Tier – II

Objective Multiple Choice

Computer Based (online)

Tier – III

Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi

Pen and Paper mode

Tier – IV

Skill Test/Computer Proficiency Test

Wherever Applicable


Before beginning the SSC CGL preparation, it is important to make note of changes in exam pattern and syllabus. The modifications to SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2018 for Tier 1 & 2 are given below.



SSC CGL Tier 3 Exam Syllabus


This is a descriptive exam that is designed to test the written skills of the candidates in English/Hindi. It is conducted offline and candidates need to write Essay/Letter/Application/Precise. The best way to prepare for the same is to read lots of articles from various newspapers. Apart from this, you need to be well aware of the pattern of Letter and Application.


Important Points



SSC CGL Tier 4 Exam Syllabus


The Tier 4 of SSC CGL Exam 2018 comprises of a couple of skill tests which are required for certain government posts.


DEST (Data Entry Speed Test): This skill test is of qualifying nature for all the posts, other than Compiler, and is used to check the typing speed of the candidate. The candidates are given printed matter in English which they must accurately type on a computer with a minimum of 2000 (two thousand) key depressions in a duration of 15 (fifteen) minutes.


CPT (Computer Proficiency Test):The Commission will hold CPT, comprising three modules - Word Processing, Spread Sheet and Generation of Slides, for applicants for the post of Assistants of CSS(Assistant), MEA(Assistant), Inspector (Central Excise) [CBEC], Inspector (Preventive officer)[CBEC] & Inspector (Examiner)[CBEC]. CPT will be of a qualifying nature.